UCSB Engineering

Press Releases for 2011

Eight Distinguished UCSB Faculty Members Named AAAS Fellows

UCSB Engineering and the Sciences Professors Honored as Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Divyakant Agrawal

UCSB Computer Science Professors Recognized for Pioneering Technological Advances

Leiden Ranks UCSB #7 in the World for Research

New Leiden Ranking system aims for objectivity in ranking top 500 research universities

James Thomson (left) and Tom Soh

Researchers Awarded $3.2M from NIH to Pioneer Advanced Biomolecule Discovery Technology

A team of researchers is designing a way to generate nucleic acid molecules that will revolutionize medical diagnostics and drug delivery

Professor Kaustav Banerjee

UCSB Professor Receives Award for Graphene Electronics Research from Leading Electrostatic Organization

Electrostatic Discharge Association’s annual award recognizes innovations in graphene nanoelectronics research by Professor Kaustav Banerjee

Professor John Bowers

John Bowers Wins 2012 John Tyndall Award for Photonics Research

UCSB Professor John Bowers is being recognized by the Optical Society and IEEE Photonics Society for pioneering research in hybrid-silicon lasers and photonic integrated circuits

Amr El Abbadi (left) and Elizabeth Belding - UCSB

UC Santa Barbara Receives Grand Challenges Explorations Funding

UC Santa Barbara Computer Science researchers receive $100,000 grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to develop a wireless technology system and immunization database for rural populations

UCSB Chancellor's Community Breakfast to Focus on Energy Efficiency

Director of the Institute for Energy Efficiency to speak on "Energy Efficiency: From the Data Center to the Third World"

Howard Zisser (left) and Frank Doyle (right)

NIH Awards $4.5M to International Research Group for Smart Artificial Pancreas Technology

PhD Student Deblina Sarkar Awarded IEEE EDS Fellowship Award

UCSB Student Only U.S. Academic to Receive Prestigious Ph.D. Fellowship Award in Nanoelectronics Research

Electrical and Computer Engineering Doctoral Student Deblina Sarkar Honored as the Only Researcher from the Americas and First UCSB Nominee to Receive 2011 IEEE Electron Devices Society’s PhD Fellowship Award

L to R: Andrew Dittmore, Dustin McIntosh, Professor Omar Saleh

Researchers at UCSB Develop New Benchtop Polymer Characterization Method

Materials researchers validate decades-old Nobel Prize winning theory by developing a simplified lab technique for measuring polymer characteristics using magnets

Bilayer Graphene Grown by Depositing Carbon Atoms from Methane Gas

Growth of High Quality Graphene by UCSB Researchers a Critical Discovery for Producing Next Generation Electronics

Method Refined by UC Santa Barbara Scientists to Synthesize Sheets of 'Wonder Material’ Graphene is Promising Link to Futuristic Technology

DNA hydrophobic forces base pairs into double helix

UCSB Researchers First to Develop Equation that Predicts Molecular Forces in Hydrophobic Interactions

New Equation Developed by UCSB Chemical Engineers Solves the Mystery of Forces Between Water-Repelling and Water-Attracting Molecules that are Critical to Industrial and Medical Applications

L to R: Lisa Parks and Elizabeth Belding

Computer Science Professor Receives NSF Grant to Bring Wireless Tech to Rural Africa

Researchers Elizabeth Belding of Computer Science and Lisa Parks of Film & Media Studies Receive $1.2 Million for New Wireless Network Technology That Will Bring Zambia Online

Sumita Pennathur, Asst Prof of Mechanical Engineering, UCSB

Sumita Pennathur Receives Presidential Early Career Award for Nanotechnology & Mechanical Engineering Research

President Obama to Present Honor to UCSB Mechanical Engineering Professor for Outstanding Achievements

Materials Research Laboratory: Craig Hawker, Maureen Evans and Ram Seshadri

Major Grant From the National Science Foundation Will Sustain UCSB Materials Research Through 2017

World-leading interdisciplinary research and education help the UC Santa Barbara Materials Research Laboratory secure $20 million in renewed NSF support

New Imaging Technique Used to Study Multiple Sclerosis

Department of Defense awards $14 million for two UCSB-led research projects

Engineers Design Molecular Probes to Study Cancer

Santa Barbara Summit on Energy Efficiency

Santa Barbara Summit on Energy Efficiency looks to a sustainable energy future

Professor Katie Byl Awarded 2011 Sloan Research Fellowship in Neuroscience

National Engineering Academy Elects Two From Santa Barbara

David Awschalom and Yulun Wang

Thomson Awarded 2011 King Faisal International Prize for Medicine

ICB Researcher Frances Arnold Receives Prestigious Charles Stark Draper Prize

Press release archives:

2016 • 2015

College Facts

Quick Fact Sheet (PDF)


Joint appointments 23%

Degrees Granted 2014

BS/BA 298
MS 120
PhD 94

Fall 2014 Enrollment

Undergraduates 1,421
Graduate 690

Research Centers & Institutes



Melissa Van De Werfhorst
melissa [at] engineering [dot] ucsb [dot] edu

College of Engineering
UC Santa Barbara
Harold Frank Hall 5130
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-5130

Share or print this page Print PDF Stumble Upon Digg Delicious