UCSB Engineering

February 15, 2006

UCSB Researchers Win Prestigious AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize

An elusive discovery by four researchers at the University of California, Santa Barbara has earned them the prestigious 2004-2005 AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, the oldest award conferred by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), publisher of the journal Science.

The AAAS announced the award today at its annual meeting, being held in St. Louis, and will present it at a ceremony for the recipients on Saturday, February 18.

In a paper published in Science, the research team reported observing the "spin Hall effect" - the first time it has been seen in an experiment. Their report, "Observation of the Spin Hall Effect in Semiconductors," was published online in Science Express on November 11, 2004 and in the print edition of Science on December 10, 2004. At the time of publication, all four authors were affiliated with the Center for Spintronics and Quantum Computation at UC Santa Barbara.

The authors of the paper are: Yuichiro K. Kato, Roberto C. Myers, Arthur C. Gossard, and David Awschalom. Awschalom is a professor of physics, electrical and computer engineering, and director of the Center for Spintronics and Quantum Computation at UCSB. Arthur Gossard is a UCSB professor of materials and also of electrical and computer engineering. Myers, currently a graduate student in materials at UCSB, works jointly with Awschalom and Gossard. Kato was a graduate student working in David Awschalom's group at the time of the experiments and is now a post-doctoral student in chemistry at Stanford University.

Released by Barbara Bronson Gray

Media Contact

Tony Rairden
Share or print this page Print PDF Stumble Upon Digg Delicious