UCSB Engineering

December 17, 2010

Computer scientists honored by ACM

Three UCSB professors have been honored by the Association for Computing Machinery, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society.

Computer Science Chair Amr El Abbadi and Professor Subhash Suri have been named 2010 ACM fellows, and Professor Divyakant Agrawal has been named an ACM Distinguished Scientist.

El Abbadi was recognized "for contributions to scalable and fault-tolerant data management protocols," and Suri was honored "for algorithmic contributions in computational geometry, networks, and computational economics." Agrawal's focus is on distributed systems and databases.

They will be honored at an ACM awards banquet in San Jose in June.

There are two other ACM fellows in UCSB's Department of Computer Science: Oscar H. Ibarra and Richard A. Kemmerer.
Share or print this page Print PDF Stumble Upon Digg Delicious