UCSB Engineering

August 1, 2011

Two UCSB Researchers Recognized as New Academic Leaders by the NSF with 2011 CAREER Awards

Two assistant professors with the UCSB College of Engineering were recognized by the National Science Foundation as scholars who are most likely to become academic leaders of the 21st century. Professors Luke Theogarajan (Electrical and Computer Engineering) and Rouslan Krechetnikov (Mechanical Engineering) received prestigious Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) awards from the NSF in the form of a stipend to support research for a period of five years.

The NSF stipend supports Theogarajan’s work in the area of biosensing entitled “CMOS Integrated Nanopores for Biomolecule Detection”. His research interests combine the processing power of electronics with the versatility of synthetic chemistry to develop neural prosthetic devices, integrating CMOS circuits with nanoscale sensors to develop novel biosensors and developing simple synthetic mimics of biological function to gain a deeper physical understanding of biological phenomena.

Krechetnikov’s research focuses on the fundamental questions in Fluid Dynamics motivated by or targeted to applications and natural phenomena. NSF stipend funding will support his research in the area of dynamical systems and applied mathematics on self-sustained interfacial motions. The outcome of this research program should provide ideas for the most efficient designs in numerous applications of surfactants with desired functions ranging from engineering to biology.

College of Engineering faculty members Theogarajan and Krechetnikov are two of the four total UC Santa Barbara assistant professors who received the NSF CAREER award this year. Other professors include Peter Alagona in history and environmental studies, and Javier Read de Alaniz in chemistry.

The NSF CAREER Program recognizes junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations.


UCSB Professor Rouslan Krechetnikov UCSB Professor Luke Theogarajan

Related Links

Press Release

ECE Department News: Luke Theogarajan

ME Department News: Rouslan Krechetnikov

NSF Abstract: Krechetnikov

Share or print this page Print PDF Stumble Upon Digg Delicious