UCSB Engineering

February 23, 2004

Two College of Engineering Faculty Among National Academy of Engineering Inductees

February 23, 2004

Santa Barbara, Calif. --Larry A. Coldren and Linda R. Petzold, two members of the College of Engineering faculty of the University of California at Santa Barbara (UCSB), were among the 76 new members and 11 foreign associates named to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) on February 13, 2004.

The two new members bring the total number of UCSB Engineering faculty in the National Academy to 24. UCSB ranks in the top five schools in the country with the highest proportion of the engineering faculty belonging to the National Academy of Engineering.

The recognition is described in the National Academy's media release: "Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made 'important contributions to engineering theory and practice, including significant contributions to the literature of engineering theory and practice,' and those who have demonstrated accomplishment in 'the pioneering of new fields of engineering, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.'"

Coldren, a professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and of Materials, is director of the DARPA-based Optoelectronics Technology Center (OTC), and is the Fred Kavli Professor of Optoelectronics and Sensors. He is cited "for major contributions to diode lasers, especially vertical-cavity and widely tunable distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) lasers."

Petzold is professor of Mechanical Engineering and of Computer Science, and director of UCSB's Computational Science and Engineering Program. The citation for Petzold commends her "for advances in the numerical solution of differential/algebraic equations and their incorporation into widely distributed software."


Related Links